Obi Official Forum
Get Balls, to sit on Rope - Printable Version

+- Obi Official Forum (https://obi.virtualmethodstudio.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Obi Users Category (https://obi.virtualmethodstudio.com/forum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Obi Rope (https://obi.virtualmethodstudio.com/forum/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: Get Balls, to sit on Rope (/thread-3558.html)

Get Balls, to sit on Rope - Renman3000 - 17-08-2022

Hi there, 
I am a newb here. I have Obi Rope and Obi SoftBody. 

What I would like to achieve is a situation where I can have a rope, attached at two ends, horizontal to ground, but where the tricky part is, that I can drop balls (softbody or not), onto this rope and tho there are physical reactions to each other, the balls sit on the rope, as they come to rest. 

I realize this is perhaps more of a 2D thing, but how can I achieve this?

RE: Get Balls, to sit on Rope - josemendez - 18-08-2022

(17-08-2022, 06:24 PM)Renman3000 Wrote: Hi there, 
I am a newb here. I have Obi Rope and Obi SoftBody. 

What I would like to achieve is a situation where I can have a rope, attached at two ends, horizontal to ground, but where the tricky part is, that I can drop balls (softbody or not), onto this rope and tho there are physical reactions to each other, the balls sit on the rope, as they come to rest. 

Hi!

If the ball is a SphereCollider + Rigidbody, just add a ObiCollider component to the ball. That's all there is to it, Obi will automatically calculate coupling between the rope and the rigidbody for them to interact and the sphere to rest on top of the rope (if restricted to 2D movement).

If the ball is a softbody, make sure particle collision constraints are globally enabled in the ObiSolver component, and make sure collision filters allow for the rope and the softbody to collide with each other. For details on collision filters, see: http://obi.virtualmethodstudio.com/manual/6.3/collisions.html

kind regards,

RE: Get Balls, to sit on Rope - Renman3000 - 18-08-2022