Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help  Does both Obi Cloth and ObiRobe are needed to make a football net?
Hello, I have some doubts regarding building a football net for my game.

The main one is presented on the title, does both plugins are necessary to build this?

Beyond that, what about performance (cause if these 2 plugins must be used together, maybe the performance overhead should be a concern here)?

And finally, how hard is to implement it for this particular use case (I'm not an expert programmer)?

My current project is just a penalty game for now, but the plan is to extend to other parts of the sport at some point. The ball is a rigidbody, using a standard sphere collider, with 0.22 scale and 0.43 of mass. The maximum speed of it is around 130 km/h for penalties. But this speed will be increased for free kicks (the most powerful shot recorded was fired at ~210km/h for instance). Additionally, I should add crowd and stadium model at some point, which means more stuff to be processed at runtime. The target platform is PC, but I would like to leave a conversion to mobile viable, if possible...

I would like to buy the/these asset(s) on this sale, Obi is expensive in my country thanks to the exchange, so I want to confirm that it will be a really useful for what I need...

It seems a very good asset by the way, I'm amazed by the results on the preview videos, congratulations!
Hi there,

You don't need both assets, you could get the job done with ObiCloth only. The tensor cables could be done using simple spring joints and a line renderer, both are built-in in Unity.

While you don't need to be a programmer to use Obi, you do need to have a pretty solid foundation on physics simulation, 3D rendering and some basic vector algebra to use it effectively. It's certainly not an easy way to get started with these topics.