Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help  The easiest way to create complex rope?
This is my end goal of simulation Gran sonrisa :
    (or please click the attachment to see image)
the strings in the image that holds the apple up is one continuous string that goes through multiple holes on the frame.
I chose to use digital simulation over making physical models because we want to produce a lot of different weaving patterns, say 60 distinct ones.

My question is: how to most efficiently create these web structure?
Since I'm completely new to Unity and more comfortable using Rhino,
s there anyway we can turn curves from rhino into obi-rope?
Or does it have to be done in Unity?

Btw, this is a great product!
Thanks in advance!
Po
(10-11-2018, 04:01 PM)PlayLikePro Wrote: This is my end goal of simulation Gran sonrisa :
(or please click the attachment to see image)
the strings in the image that holds the apple up is one continuous string that goes through multiple holes on the frame.
I chose to use digital simulation over making physical models because we want to produce a lot of different weaving patterns, say 60 distinct ones.

My question is: how to most efficiently create these web structure?
Since I'm completely new to Unity and more comfortable using Rhino,
s there anyway we can turn curves from rhino into obi-rope?
Or does it have to be done in Unity?

Btw, this is a great product!
Thanks in advance!
Po

Hi there,

Mmmm...if you intend to simulate this using particle-based ropes, you're in for a lot of headaches.

The rope shown in the image seems to be under a lot of tension, lots of self-collisions and collisions against small holes, all of which require extreme precision to be solved. Collisions and self-collisions in Obi are resolved at the particle level, which is great for fast realtime stuff, but fails when there's a lot of collisions and/or the rope tension is high (as gaps might open between particles, and other particles can slip trough).