Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help  Best Practice for Project
Hi!

I have a project and wanted to ask for suggestions on how to best accomplish my goal with Obi Physics (which I think is suitable for the task). I have some but not much experience with using Obi Physics. I own both the Rope and the Cloth Package.

What I want to do is:

1. Have a flexible wiener with a nice bend resistance to it 
    My Idea: Use Rod instead of Rope, read about Bend Constraonts but can't find them in the package
  2. The weiner should have rounded ends attached to it 
    My Idea: Obi Particle Attachment with dynamic type?
  3. The weiner has to be cuttable when it touches a knife 
    My Idea: Use Tear() method? - might only be applicable to rope and not rod though.
Any suggestions, pointers, tipps or ideas are welcome. I hope my question doesn't breach any rules here since it technically doesn't fall into any of the available categories.

I am using:

Obi Rope: V6.5
Obi Cloth: V6.5

Thank you very much in advance.

Best,

Robert
Hi Robert,

Unless you need torsion/twist simulation (imho a sausage has very little twisting motion to simulate) or you need to have a non-straight rest shape, you shouldn't need to use rods. Also, rods cannot be cut at runtime so that wouldn't help with your use case.

Quote:The weiner should have rounded ends attached to it 
My Idea: Obi Particle Attachment with dynamic type?

Dynamic attachments are meant for two-way coupling with rigidbodies, so they would be overkill in this case. You just need a rounded shape "glued" to the end of the rope, you can use the included utility script ObiRopePrefabPlugger to place prefabs at the start/end of the rope as well as plug the cut regions.

Quote:My Idea: Use Rod instead of Rope, read about Bend Constraonts but can't find them in the package