Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Simple Way to Attach Game Object?
Is there a simple way to manually attach a game object to a softbody? I just want an object to follow a point or particle on the softbody without influencing the softbody at all, as if the game object were just along for the ride.

I tried the attachment component with both static and dynamic options. Neither give me good results since static will not allow the object to be influenced by the softbody and dynamic causes some wonky and unpredictable 2 way interaction. I noticed some threads here where colliding objects can attach to a softbody at runtime, but I want to set this up manually in edit mode so the game object is always on a specific part of the softbody from the get go. I also tried the obi contact grabber, but that doesn't seem to do anything.

I am not a programmer so I have no idea how to script something like this myself. Any help would be much appreciated!
(20-11-2021, 09:13 PM)beegon Wrote: Is there a simple way to manually attach a game object to a softbody? I just want an object to follow a point or particle on the softbody without influencing the softbody at all, as if the game object were just along for the ride.

I tried the attachment component with both static and dynamic options. Neither give me good results since static will not allow the object to be influenced by the softbody and dynamic causes some wonky and unpredictable 2 way interaction. I noticed some threads here where colliding objects can attach to a softbody at runtime, but I want to set this up manually in edit mode so the game object is always on a specific part of the softbody from the get go. I also tried the obi contact grabber, but that doesn't seem to do anything.

I am not a programmer so I have no idea how to script something like this myself. Any help would be much appreciated!

Hi!