Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help  Difference between URP shaders for v5.6.2?
Hello,

I am new to using Obi Fluid v5.6.2 in URP in 2019.4+,
I notice that there are 3 different URP shaders

-FluidShaderURP
-ParticleShaderURP
-SimpleParticleShaderURP

I tried to playing with all the example scenes by using the above 3 shaders on the emitter and noticed only the particleShaderURP would actually render
My question what are the difference between them and when should I use the other 2 shaders?

Thank you
(17-12-2020, 12:59 AM)zkkzkk32312 Wrote: Hello,

I am new to using Obi Fluid v5.6.2 in URP in 2019.4+,
I notice that there are 3 different URP shaders

-FluidShaderURP
-ParticleShaderURP
-SimpleParticleShaderURP

I tried to playing with all the example scenes by using the above 3 shaders on the emitter and noticed only the particleShaderURP would actually render
My question what are the difference between them and when should I use the other 2 shaders?

Thank you

Hi there,

ParticleShaderURP and SimpleParticleShaderURP are particle shaders, the differences and how they work is described in detail here:
http://obi.virtualmethodstudio.com/tutor...ering.html

FluidShaderURP is a fluid shader, as described here:
http://obi.virtualmethodstudio.com/tutor...ering.html

Particle shaders take a mesh of collapsed vertices as input, and expand them to full camera-facing quads, then draws a procedural sphere/ellipse in each of them. This way thousands of perfectly smooth spheres/ellipsoids are drawn to screen, each one using just 2 triangles. The "simple" shader does not take perspective, anisotropy or depth into account, while the regular one does.

Fluid shaders take 4 full-screen fluid data buffers as input (normals, depth, thickness and foam) then calculate shading and compose the fluid on top of the screen, as described in the link above.