Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help  [obi rope]I want to make the string smaller
Hello.I am a beginner. The question was too rudimentary and the search did not find an answer...

The default rope for my stage is thick and short, so I tried to make it thin and long.

However, the strings sometimes pass over the ground and get stuck, making movement unnatural.

Before thinning it was my ideal move.

The version I'm using
・unity2019
・obi rope5

Where I changed to make the rope thinner
Case 1・[Obi Rope Extruded Renderer]-[Thicdness Scale]0.8→0.1
Case 2・[Edit path]-[Thickness]1→0.1
[Obi Path Smoother]-[Smoothing]0→3
Changed the length:[Edit path]I moved the left and right points to make them longer.

I would be grateful if you could point me to what is wrong.

Thank you.
(06-08-2020, 03:30 AM)nyame Wrote: Hello.I am a beginner. The question was too rudimentary and the search did not find an answer...

The default rope for my stage is thick and short, so I tried to make it thin and long.

However, the strings sometimes pass over the ground and get stuck, making movement unnatural.

Before thinning it was my ideal move.

The version I'm using
・unity2019
・obi rope5

Where I changed to make the rope thinner
Case 1・[Obi Rope Extruded Renderer]-[Thicdness Scale]0.8→0.1
Case 2・[Edit path]-[Thickness]1→0.1
[Obi Path Smoother]-[Smoothing]0→3
Changed the length:[Edit path]I moved the left and right points to make them longer.

I would be grateful if you could point me to what is wrong.

Thank you.

Thinning a rope will exacerbate tunneling, because it makes its particles smaller. Tunneling is inherent to computer-simulated physics, and present in all physics engines, if you're unfamiliar with the concept this video talks about it:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ms0Z35GY6pk

Quote:Case 1・[Obi Rope Extruded Renderer]-[Thicdness Scale]0.8→0.1