Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help  Boiling Fluid?
Hello, Obi noob here!

I was wondering how would I go about implementing a boiling fluid effect? 

I want to have it so I can activate the fluid to boil and then go back to a normal state.

Is this even possible with Obi Fluid?

Thank you!
(03-08-2020, 11:02 AM)amperdev Wrote: Hello, Obi noob here!

I was wondering how would I go about implementing a boiling fluid effect? 

I want to have it so I can activate the fluid to boil and then go back to a normal state.

Is this even possible with Obi Fluid?

Thank you!

Not possible with Obi Fluid. When a liquid boils, it basically starts to evaporate generating bubbles in the process. Bubbles are air trapped inside the liquid, simulating them would require simulating air as a second phase that interacts with the fluid. This is extremely slow to simulate and generally avoided even in offline simulators. It's an active field of research, some advances have been done, but still far away from realtime performance.

Best you can do is fake it adding some perturbation to fluid particles (small upward forces at random places) and/or a regular particle system with bubble billboards.
(03-08-2020, 11:08 AM)josemendez Wrote: Not possible with Obi Fluid. When a liquid boils, it basically starts to evaporate generating bubbles in the process. Bubbles are air trapped inside the liquid, simulating them would require simulating air as a second phase that interacts with the fluid. This is extremely slow to simulate and generally avoided even in offline simulators. It's an active field of research, some advances have been done, but still far away from realtime performance.

Best you can do is fake it adding some perturbation to fluid particles (small upward forces at random places) and/or a regular particle system with bubble billboards.

Can't I trigger the Obi particles to stop using gravity so they float off while changing their material color?