Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is it possible to cache a simulation?
I'm just getting started with Obi. I am overall impressed with its performance, but there is one big thing I can't figure out: Is it possible to pre-compute and cache a simulation? By this I mean a way to calculate particles in advance and replay them on demand.

This would be useful when results are not needed in real time, such as for pre-rendered sequences, film production, and realtime gaming when the simulation is not affected by any interactive components. This is my primary use case.

If Obi does not support this directly, is there another way to achieve it in Unity? Perhaps a way to export the resulting mesh?

Thanks in advance for your help!
(31-10-2019, 06:51 AM)lophochroa Wrote: I'm just getting started with Obi. I am overall impressed with its performance, but there is one big thing I can't figure out: Is it possible to pre-compute and cache a simulation? By this I mean a way to calculate particles in advance and replay them on demand.

This would be useful when results are not needed in real time, such as for pre-rendered sequences, film production, and realtime gaming when the simulation is not affected by any interactive components. This is my primary use case.

If Obi does not support this directly, is there another way to achieve it in Unity? Perhaps a way to export the resulting mesh?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi there!

Thought of simulating in any offline simulator, then using Alembic to import the results? This is probably the industry standard approach for cinematics and similar content, no need to reinvent the wheel:
https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/com.un...orial.html