Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Scaling / Sizing a cloth - How?
Hi there,

I'm new to Obi in general, and just starting out with Obi Cloth. I have a scene where there are multiple differently sized items that I want to cover with pieces of cloth, to be uncovered later during runtime.

Now, in order to cover the different items, I'm using a simple plane that I add an Obi Cloth Component as outlined in the instructions. While this works in a general way, it seems to me that no matter what size of cloth i define (using the scale properties of the object's Transform), the resulting cloth expands/shrinks to the 1:1 scale as soon as I hit start, in effect negating any scale settings of the master Transform.

How do correctly size an Obi cloth so it stays at the size/scale I set? Do i have to create an appropriately sized mesh for each cloth, or can I use one mesh for all (as I'm doing now)?

Since this is a fairly basic issue, I assume I've missed an essential part of the manual - so any pointers appreciated.

Thanks,
ch  
(04-11-2017, 04:20 PM)csofrany Wrote: Hi there,

I'm new to Obi in general, and just starting out with Obi Cloth. I have a scene where there are multiple differently sized items that I want to cover with pieces of cloth, to be uncovered later during runtime.

Now, in order to cover the different items, I'm using a simple plane that I add an Obi Cloth Component as outlined in the instructions. While this works in a general way, it seems to me that no matter what size of cloth i define (using the scale properties of the object's Transform), the resulting cloth expands/shrinks to the 1:1 scale as soon as I hit start, in effect negating any scale settings of the master Transform.

How do correctly size an Obi cloth so it stays at the size/scale I set? Do i have to create an appropriately sized mesh for each cloth, or can I use one mesh for all (as I'm doing now)?