Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to use with OVR camera
Hi there,
I'm just getting started with Fluid and I have a few questions:

1. If there's a special relationship between rendering and a camera a scene, can you help me understand how this relationship works? I've placed an OVRCameraRig (using Oculus) in the Obi Sample Scene > FluidMill and I'm not seeing any particles being rendered. If I disable the OVRCameraRig and use the default camera, I can see the particles.

2. Can someone provide a more detailed explanation of "Simulate in Local Space" and what the alternatives are?

3. If I place my OVRCameraRig in a brand new scene, I can see particle imposters.

Hopefully this these are some simple noob questions. Looking for any tips/tricks that might help me work with ObuFluid in VR.

-Mike
I don’t own Obi Fluod yet but on the FAQ it says:

Does it support VR (Virtual Reality)?

Cloth and Rope will support VR. For Obi Fluid, you will have to use separate cameras for each eye since the renderer does not support single-pass stereo rendering.

I don’t know how to help, but just something I remember reading. Try going to player setting and set Stero Rendering to multipass slow.
I missed that in the FAQ section. In Player Settings I only see an option called Stereo Rendering Method* with the options being: Multi Pass and Single Pass.

I can see that I might have opened a can of worms with this VR issue when trying to use the OVRCameraRig with Fluid Indeciso Your suggested solution helped me refine my Google search and I now see that most of the discussions about solutions are dealing with things that I'm not skilled enough to understand at this point.

Perhaps someone else can provide a very specific solution or at least tell us if it's not at all possible to use VR with Fluid.

Thanks for the useful info niZmo!