Obi Official Forum
Changing rope length ugly when we use chains - Printable Version

+- Obi Official Forum (https://obi.virtualmethodstudio.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Obi Users Category (https://obi.virtualmethodstudio.com/forum/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Obi Rope (https://obi.virtualmethodstudio.com/forum/forum-4.html)
+--- Thread: Changing rope length ugly when we use chains (/thread-3593.html)



Changing rope length ugly when we use chains - lacasrac - 18-09-2022

When we use rope, we cannot see what happening, but when I use chains, it will be very ugly.
Can you help me how to change it to simulate a better visualization?

Here is my code

Code:
        public void ChangeLength(float speed) {
            //ezt update-ben kell meghivni
            if (isLengthChangable) {
                if (_obiRopeCursor == null) {
                    _obiRopeCursor = gameObject.AddComponent<ObiRopeCursor>();
                    _obiRopeCursor.cursorMu = .1f; //feletol
                    _obiRopeCursor.sourceMu = .1f;
                    _obiRopeCursor.direction = true;
                }

                _obiRopeCursor.ChangeLength(rope.restLength + speed * Time.deltaTime);
            }
        } 



RE: Changing rope length ugly when we use chains - josemendez - 18-09-2022

(18-09-2022, 12:05 PM)lacasrac Wrote: When we use rope, we cannot see what happening, but when I use chains, it will be very ugly.
Can you help me how to change it to simulate a better visualization?

Here is my code

Code:
        public void ChangeLength(float speed) {
            //ezt update-ben kell meghivni
            if (isLengthChangable) {
                if (_obiRopeCursor == null) {
                    _obiRopeCursor = gameObject.AddComponent<ObiRopeCursor>();
                    _obiRopeCursor.cursorMu = .1f; //feletol
                    _obiRopeCursor.sourceMu = .1f;
                    _obiRopeCursor.direction = true;
                }

                _obiRopeCursor.ChangeLength(rope.restLength + speed * Time.deltaTime);
            }
        } 

Hi!

Could you define "ugly" in this case? What's the problem?

If the problem is links appear/disappear instantly, chains are discrete: a link is either there or it's not. I'm afraid there's no way to work around that, links will appear/disappear as you change the rope length.

kind regards,


RE: Changing rope length ugly when we use chains - lacasrac - 18-09-2022

(18-09-2022, 12:12 PM)josemendez Wrote: Hi!

Could you define "ugly" in this case? What's the problem?

If the problem is links appear/disappear instantly, chains are discrete: a link is either there or it's not. I'm afraid there's no way to work around that, links will appear/disappear as you change the rope length.

kind regards,

yes, sadly that is the probleme. a chain appears immediatelly Triste on a rope you can't see it, because that is a rope Sonrisa


RE: Changing rope length ugly when we use chains - josemendez - 18-09-2022

(18-09-2022, 12:32 PM)lacasrac Wrote: yes, sadly that is the probleme. a chain appears immediatelly Triste on a rope you can't see it, because that is a rope Sonrisa

Well, unfortunately there's no workaround for this. Triste


RE: Changing rope length ugly when we use chains - lacasrac - 18-09-2022

(18-09-2022, 12:49 PM)josemendez Wrote: Well, unfortunately there's no workaround for this. Triste

ok, thanks